Reinhardt, Jonas Foam Fangs


Formats Available

Label # SILK 029UPC 655035012612
Street DateAugust 14th, 2012
Label # UPC 655035012612
Street DateJuly 31st, 2012

Foam Fangs could be a term used to describe 100% Silk’s preferred take on that too-easily dismissed ’70s dancefloor dementia of disco—the soft bite, love nibble, mirrorball on steady / ready perma-revolve. Jesse Reiner (Jonas Reinhardt’s first mister, alongside past / parttime collaborators like Phil Manley of Trans Am and Damon Palermo of Mi Ami and Magic Touch), who never quite had the Kranky krinkle of his ohm-ambient labelmates, travels head-on, Tomorrowland-style, through long-form cosmic Moroder constellations on his latest EP.  Nothing frothy about it, though there is a bit of the rubbery in Reiner’s bounce-about, cool, funky kraut-disco. Suddenly we’re beaming back to a time when the world looked forward, envisioning a 21st century decked with silver, chrome and neoprene. It’s a sonic space both transparent and shiny; the metallic ding and cold ribbon of data, scrolling through infinite space.  Opener “Foam Fangs” transports us instantly into an ever-expanding universe of sound and light fanning out and folding in on itself at once. Variations on that theme continue as the Jonas journey oscillates through the beat-beyond.


  1. #1 Foam Fangs
  2. #2 Soak
  3. #3 Auto Grift
  4. #4 Hot Black Mastic
  5. #5 Foam Fangs (Beat Broker Remix)
  6. Single MP3s for this release are $0.99.