Mournful Congregation Monad Of Creation


Formats Available

Label # SPIN 052UPC 721616805222
Street DateOctober 16th, 2012
Label # UPC 721616805222
Street DateOctober 16th, 2012

The favorite album of many longtime Mournful Congregation fans, The Monad of Creation stands as a monument of creativity and depth in the doom genre. Originally released in 2005 on the obscure Japanese label Weird Truth Productions, it was widely overlooked due to having no official North American release. Nonetheless, The Monad of Creation is an absolute masterpiece of sorrowful and expressive doom metal the likes of which is rarely achieved by any band. Similar to their 2011 release The Book of Kings, The Monad of Creation consists of four long tracks ranging from 10 to 21 minutes in length. Each is a universe unto itself, its various shades of light and dark intricately crafted and painted with arduous attention. Damon Good’s deep, tortured vocals hang like a noose over the bleak and vast spirit of decay throughout. 20 Buck Spin releases Monad as part of a series of Mournful Congregation back catalog pressings, making the band’s first three full-length albums regularly available in North America for the first time ever.


  1. #1 Mother-Water, the Great Sea Wept
  2. #2 As I Drown in Loveless Rain
  3. #3 When the Weeping Dawn Beheld Its Mortal Thirst
  4. #4 The Monad of Creation
  5. Single MP3s for this release are $0.99.
  6. This album includes one or more tracks available only with a full album download.