Rep, Mike and the Quotas Stupor Hiatus


Formats Available

Label # SB113/SB114UPC 655030111310
Street DateJune 22nd, 2010
Label # UPC 655030111310
Street DateMay 11th, 2010
Label # UPC 655030111310
Street DateMay 11th, 2010

INCLUDES FREE DOWNLOAD COUPON!!! Stupor Hiatus culls the complete recorded works of the original Mike Rep and the Quotas, dating back to 1974 and moving forward into the early 1990s. Essentially a reworking of the Stupor Hiatus Vol. 2 LP released by Siltbreeze in 1992 (minus the questionable original artwork and mysterious French-language insert), this definitive collection is that record in its entirety plus six additional tracks, four of which have never before been released.
This double-LP includes the legendary "Rocket to Nowhere," a lovely instrumental interpretation of the 13th Floor Elevators' "She Lives in a Time of Her Own," a cover of Roky Erickson's "Creature with the Atom Brain," a shout-out to the Strapping Fieldhands ("In the Pineys") and fifteen other immortal tracks. Those who already know, know. But if you're only familiar with the name Mike Rep as a producer for such acts as Guided By Voices, Strapping Fieldhands and Times New Viking, here's your chance to get caught up with a back catalog of extraordinary capacity. Before there were peckerwoods buzzing about lo-fi, Mike Rep--fed by a love for B-grade horror flicks, (the aforementioned) 13 Floor Elevators, Velvet Undergound, Kim Fowley and (blech!) The Doors--was concocting a mash of home-recorded punk, pop and psychedelia for a few fortunate ears. This isn't the Sunset Strip or Lower East Side, folks, it's Grove City, Ohio, a scene ruled by codeine, cannabis and Carling. So be prepared to hunker down with a fuzzy, furry and fried collection of 20-plus years of sound from the vaults of one of America's most important legends in the flesh. The Creeping Flesh, that is.


  1. #1 Rocket To Nowhere
  2. #2 War of the Worlds
  3. #3 I Resign
  4. #4 Mama Was A Schitzo...
  5. #5 Sister Ray
  6. #6 Excavation Of Tremper Mound
  7. #7 She Lives In a Time Of Her Own
  8. #8 Creature With The Atom Brain
  9. #9 Addictions of Choice
  10. #10 Out
  11. #11 Fade Away
  12. #12 Steppin' Fetchit Is Dead
  13. #13 This Island Earth
  14. #14 Basket of Flowers
  15. #15 H. M. My Mind
  16. #16 Windows
  17. #17 One For My Baby
  18. #18 Who Knows
  19. #19 In The Pineys
  20. Single MP3s for this release are $0.99.