Minerva, Maria Will Happiness Find Me


Formats Available

Label # NNF269 CDUPC 655035026923
Street DateAugust 28th, 2012
Label # NNF269 LPUPC 655035026916
Street DateAugust 28th, 2012
Label # UPC 655035026923
Street DateAugust 28th, 2012

Last November, Maria Minerva accepted the invitation of a close friend to flee the grey brainwash of yet another East London winter for a temporary retreat amid the seaside serenities of Lisbon. The life oasis of the experience freed her up to hibernate with lyrics, loops, echo pedals and emotions, and she holed up at an empty exhibition space nearby to craft the eleven mercurial mysteries that comprise her brave sophomore color wheel, Will Happiness Find Me? 

An impressively individualist mix-tape channeling the 360º spectrum of Minerva’s diverse obsessions, Will Happiness Find Me? connects the avant-pop dots between future-shock pirate radio singles, hermetic tone studies, late-night wanderlust lullabies, tape-faded club dee-lights, sampladelic vocal exploratoriums, private-press art pranks and even ambient hip-hop melancholia. Given that most contempo aesthetic arcs ebb from the raw and odd to the polished and accessible, it’s rad and uplifting to hear Minerva swimming so soulfully the other direction. “My heart is like a microphone / Just talk into it.” Never give up.


  1. #1 The Sound
  2. #2 Heart Like A Microphone
  3. #3 I Don't Wanna Be Discovered (Will Happiness Find Me?)
  4. #4 Alone In Amsterdam
  5. #5 Sweet Synergy
  6. #6 Fire (feat. Chase Royal)
  7. #7 Coming Of Age
  8. #8 Perpetual Motion Machine
  9. #9 Never Give Up
  10. #10 Mad Girl's Love Song
  11. #11 The Star
  12. Single MP3s for this release are $0.99.