Max Block, The Air Ache In The Belly Of The Leech


Formats Available

Label # SB 148UPC 655030114816
Street DateJuly 31st, 2012
Label # UPC 655030114816
Street DateJuly 31st, 2012

For the majority of newbie Flying Nun collectors, The Max Block’s eponymous (and only) 12-inch release is more myth than fact. Few seemed to have been pressed, and even fewer were available in the brief window of time (mid-’80s) when it was “around.” Unknown until very recently was that a second EP had been recorded and slated for release by Flying Nun but never realized. Air Ache in the Belly of the Leech is a compendium of both, and thus the complete recorded works of The Max Block. You’re welcome.

Some background: The Max Block is where Maryrose (née Wilkinson) and Brian Crook—now the power couple behind The Renderers—joined forces for the first time. Maryrose was coming out of Above Ground, and Brian out of Scorched Earth Policy. With the enlisted talents of Rebecca Shanahan and Robbie Stowell, The Max Block pushed different boundaries than other active Christchurch bands at the time; they came out slinging a brain-splattering goo of art-spaced, Pere-Ubu-seared cerebellum, and frenetic, Mars-fried medula oblongata. Such tantalizing aromas! Pardon me, garçon, but make mine deux.

Bottom line, Siltbreeze is proud to make available this remarkable and awesome collection, much of it seeing the light of day for the first time ever. Edition of 500.


  1. #1 Burn David Burn
  2. #2 It Came In A Can
  3. #3 Black Fish
  4. #4 Sonic Blur
  5. #5 Incubator
  6. #6 Psychic Discharge
  7. #7 Shaking with Mother
  8. #8 Johnny Mnemonic
  9. #9 Leprosies Leftovers
  10. #10 The Young Mussolini
  11. #11 The Oldest Lies (live)
  12. #12 The 13th Woman / Different Air (live)
  13. #13 (What I've Heard of) Wyoming
  14. #14 Dark Continent
  15. #15 Establish an Order
  16. Single MP3s for this release are $0.99.