Sole No Wising Up No Settling Down


Formats Available

Label # BCR 012 CDUPC 655035091228
Street DateApril 30th, 2013
Label # UPC 655035091228
Street DateApril 30th, 2013

The second installment in the Ruthless Criticism of Everything Existing series, No Wising Up, No Settling Down focuses more on the personal and social aspects of philosophy and class conflict and abandons overtly political songwriting for a more subtle, honest, experimental and poetic approach. Although the album contains pop elements seen in the past few Sole releases, it also harkens back to his classic stream-of-consciousness poetry and noise styles.  No Wising Up, No Settling Down features collaborations with Goldpanda, Sean Bonette of Andrew Jackson Jihad, The Hood Internet & Shapers, Man Mantis, Dosh, Loden, Cars & Trains, Skyrider, Spencertron and Snubluck. A decent chunk of the production is handled by DJ Pain 1, who’s produced tracks for Young Jeezy, Gucci Mane and 50 Cent and pushes Sole’s Nuclear Winter aesthetic into new, exciting and uncharted territory. Coming mere months after the successful release of A Ruthless Criticism of Everything Existing, this album is a testament to what can be accomplished by truly DIY artists when they own their own time and labor.  “... an artist who has continually—and beautifully—made politics and social issues a part of his music, pushing the boundaries of what hip-hop sounds and looks like.” —Huffington Post  “It’d be easy to assume the former Anticon chief is a man out of time, but that’s not the case.” —Spin  “Sole is a real revolutionary.” —Pitchfork


  1. #1 Introfukyallall
  2. #2 The Trap
  3. #3 Civil War
  4. #4 Insurgent Rap
  5. #5 My Veganism
  6. #6 People Piss Me Off
  7. #7 I Think I'm Emma Goldman
  8. #8 Geneology Of Giving A Fuck
  9. #9 Gangster Of Love
  10. #10 Extremeophile
  11. #11 303 Ways To Die
  12. #12 Prole
  13. #13 No Wising Up No Settling Down
  14. #14 War on Self
  15. Single MP3s for this release are $0.99.