V/a Smooth Sounds: The Future Hits Of Wckr Spgt


Formats Available

Label # UPC 759718115826
Street DateJune 22nd, 2010
Label # SHR 158UPC 759718115826
Street DateJuly 6th, 2010
Label # SHR 158UPC
Street DateJuly 6th, 2010

"All of them sparkling clean digital hand-jobs (of late) got me to thinking about the years I spent renting a room above a former farmer's garage, dubbing tapes when my better-minded friends were going to college and/or fucking with crystal meth. Time flies (except when you are constantly typing in 0s and 1s to get someone's laptop to cum) and certainly somewhere, a 16-year-old kid is online awaiting some hilarious critiques of the 20th anniversary Shrimper compilation Smooth Sounds: The Future Hits of Wckr Spgt double-CD: 36 exclusive songs specifically written for this project by Wckr Spgt and then given out blindly to the artists participating. With close to 200 releases under our belt and hundreds of artists that have recorded for the label, it was near impossible to choose bands for this project, so blindly into the depths of the third circle went we. "Smooth Sounds features key Shrimper acts (Soul-Junk, Sentridoh, Joy, The Mountain Goats, Simon Joyner, Jad Fair), recordings by artists from the surrounding environs that influenced the label (Norma Tanega, Kurt Ross, John Harrelson) and over a dozen new bands to keep intact the spirit of what a Shrimper compilation is supposed to be. The first pressing features covers lovingly hand-decorated by artists who have recorded for the Shrimper label, as well as extensive liner notes by Franklin Bruno. There are a number of festivals set to take place on July 24th, the official 20th anniversary of Shrimper, in Southern California, Virginia, England and New York, with all proceeds to benefit local art collectives. Keep your eyes peeled for more guerilla events that correspond with this release." --Dennis Callaci


    Disc 1

  1. #1 I'm Dressing Myself
  2. #2 She is Electric
  3. #3 Robot Vampires
  4. #4 Transitional Objective
  5. #5 The Ganzfeld Effect
  6. #6 Smooth Sounds for your Fucking Face
  7. #7 A Better Line
  8. #8 Pullman Heights
  9. #9 The Gift of Love
  10. #10 Actor's Raingear
  11. #11 No Cheese For Porthos
  12. #12 Predator Eyes
  13. #13 Fits and Starts
  14. #14 Tracking Devices
  15. #15 Kurt Cobain Will Have His Revenge on the City of Los Angeles
  16. #16 Boom Boom (Thumb Rights)
  17. #17 Chest Pain
  18. #18 Fruitbat Waltz
  19. #19 Fire on the Lemon
  20. Disc 2

  21. #1 Really Long Fall
  22. #2 God, Waking Up
  23. #3 Cigarettes and Sunshine
  24. #4 Flag Pin (written for Wckr Spgt by Franklin Bruno)
  25. #5 Terrible Criminal
  26. #6 More or Less Alive
  27. #7 Long Beach
  28. #8 Memorandum of Understanding
  29. #9 Cause and Effect
  30. #10 Starcrossed Teen
  31. #11 Landers
  32. #12 My Secret Prison
  33. #13 Okayz Corral
  34. #14 We Were Warned About Factionalism
  35. #15 Princess Cat
  36. #16 Look Forward to Dying (Alone)
  37. #17 Robot Vampires of Reprise
  38. Single MP3s for this release are $0.99.