Amps For Christ / Woods Woods / Amps For Christ


Formats Available

Label # SHR 161UPC 759718116113
Street DateMay 1st, 2012
Label # SHR 161 CDUPC 759718116120
Street DateApril 17th, 2012
Label # UPC 759718116120
Street DateApril 17th, 2012

Shrimper Records has a long-standing tradition, going back to the early years of the label, of its artists collaborating with one another—from John Davis and Lou Barlow’s Folk Implosion to Franklin Bruno and John Darnielle’s Extra Glenns / Lens, with dozens of other examples in between. This split between Woods and Amps for Christ began as an idea for a 7-inch single, but grew into a full-length LP featuring four songs by each artist and an additional collaborative track. While Woods and Amps for Christ explore a lot of the same land mass, each turns over different rocks and shards of glass. And even though the two work independently from one another, listeners will hear the sublime manner in which the LP’s two sides (or the harsh, tinny digital skree of the MP3s for you 20th century types, dig your irony) complement one another both musically and lyrically. Check out the ESP interplay of Henry Barnes and Jeremy Earl when together or separated by coasts.


  1. #1 When
  2. #2 Native Chantz
  3. #3 Lord Bateman (Child #53)
  4. #4 Roto Koto in C Major
  5. #5 Sleep
  6. #6 From Oatmeal To Buttermilk
  7. #7 Wind Was the Wine
  8. #8 Brothers
  9. #9 September Saturn
  10. Single MP3s for this release are $0.99.