Enter the download code you received with your purchase to claim your downloads. Keep in mind many mobile devices don't have built in support for opening ZIP files; you may want to download on a computer.


Login with your existing account.


Create an account to purchase items.

Passwords must be at least 6 characters

Once Upon A Time by Belaboris


Once Upon A Time
Dark Entries

***BELABORIS was born in 1982 as the brainchild of Finnish producer KIMMO MIETTINEN. What Malcolm McLaren had been to The Sex Pistols, Miettinen was to Belaboris. He would put together an all-girl band that looked great in photographs but were backed by professional musicians. The first line-up was VILMA VAINKAINEN on main vocals, SISKO VAINKAINEN and RITA on back-up plus JAKE and MARI who did not sing at all. The backing band behind Belaboris was a local New Wave group called TYHJAT PATTERIT (which translates to Empty Batteries). The main songwriter was ESA IJAS (guitar, synthesizer) along with his bandmates ARI IJAS (bass) and MARTTI JALONEN (drums). Belaboris' debut 12" single "Kuolleet Peilit" was released in November 1982. It was followed by the "Odotus" 7" single in February 1983. The B-side was a cover of the Serge Gainsbourg song "Baby Pop". The band broke up and posthumously released a mini-LP called Olipa Kerran in 1984. WIthin a few months, an all new Belaboris line-up was put together. This version was a trio consisting of SAARA SOISALO (lead vocals), SALLAMAARI MUHONEN (backing vocals) and MINNA SOISALO ("moral support"). They released a 7" single "Rakkauden Jälkeen," an atmospheric electronic version of ‘60s Scandinavian pop hit by Carola. Shortly thereafter this line-up was quietly shelved and no further efforts were made. Once Upon A Time collects songs from all three EP releases and the "Olipa Kerran" mini-LP as well as two unreleased demos never before on vinyl. In Finland the synthetic Futurist/New Romantic...

LP $17.50


DE 041