If you received a download code in a vinyl you purchased, you can redeem it for your download here.


Login with your existing account.

Forgot Password


Create an account to purchase items.


Le Forte Four

Bikini Tennis Shoes

LP $22.00

04/07/2017 855985006741 


FLAC $11.99

04/07/2017 855985006741 


MP3 $9.90

04/07/2017 855985006741 


The origins of Le Forte Four are those of the Los Angeles Free Music Society itself. Chip Chapman joined forces with Rick Potts (and shortly thereafter Tom and Joe Potts), taking up the LAFMS name in 1974. Ultimately baptizing themselves Le Forte Four, they began threading imagined lines between John Cage and The Residents, Cecil Taylor and Henry Cow – generating sounds completely unlike any of these and anything since. The inaugural release on the eponymous LAFMS imprint with only 200 copies pressed originally, Bikini Tennis Shoes is a staggering piece of anti-music that remains as refreshingly ground-clearing today as it was when it first appeared in 1975. Its 40 minutes (parceled out across nearly as many tracks) chart forays into free improvisation, Buchla misuse, filtered noise, begrudging and damaged melodic sorties (from the Star-Spangled Banner to Stravinsky’s “The Rite of Spring”) and healthy doses of basement pablum. Le Forte Four emerged out of the lethargic American ‘70s as a locus where, in their own words, “gamelans and ragas merged with serial and chance compositions finally melting together with instructional records and Beatles bootlegs.” A wildly eclectic rummaging of postwar culture and 20th century sound, Le Forte Four’s Bikini Tennis Shoes preempts punk’s outsider ethos and DIY autodidactism. Limited edition of 500 numbered copies on clear vinyl.


  1. #1 Ka-Bella-Cha-Cha

  2. #2 Some Problem With The Cord Or Something

  3. #3 Ka-Bella-Binsky Bungo (Excerpt)

  4. #4 Good Worker

  5. #5 Aye Ma Ma (I'm Amok)

  6. #6 Meanwhile Back At The Tulip Boat, Stinky And Gus Make Warplanes / Your Living Constitution (Dies)

  7. #7 Before Docking In Space

  8. #8 Candy Wrapper Blues / A Little Sloppy Still

  9. #9 Bikini Tennis Shoes (One Pair)

  10. #10 Joe's Nose Solo

  11. #11 Song Of The Electric Drill

  12. #12 I Can't Even Think / On The Downing Of A Giant Face / Joe's Dead / Marriage / Twinkle

  13. #13 What Do You Do, Radiator? / The Grocery Store Is My Heaven

  14. #14 Fade It Out

  15. #15 The Pope Speaks

  16. #16 Crank Up The Kids

  17. #17 Bongo Madness

  18. #18 Ka-Bella Reprise

  19. #19 Steven, Steven

  20. #20 Sonnet

  21. #21 Ballad De Forte Four

  22. #22 It's Raining Bongos

  23. #23 They Are Asleep

  24. #24 Music Hall Bootleg (Excerpt)

  25. #25 Painting The Roses Red

  26. #26 Enough Fun / That Feedback Again

Single MP3s for this release are $0.99.

Related Items


Dockstader, Tod

Eight Electronic Pieces


Highlights Of Vortex

Die Todliche Doris

" "

Jones, Joe

In Performance