Connections Body Language


Formats Available

Label # AW 072UPC 711447007216
Street DateOctober 15th, 2013
Label # UPC 711447007216
Street DateOctober 1st, 2013
Label # UPC 711447007216
Street DateOctober 1st, 2013

"Body Language" is the second full length from Columbus' Connections, whose sound at once echoes Ohio but also the vast history of the bands and their collective knowledge of music. They say the mid-west is the breadbasket of America and that Ohio is the heart of it all. The state is, in fact, shaped like a heart and in the center of the heart lies Columbus. A town larger than the rest and a melting pot of transplants from around the state, Cleveland, Cincinnati and of course Dayton, where the core of Connections hails from. The homegrown in Ohio breed loyalty whether it's tragic loyalty (ala any Cleveland sports fan) or the hope of yet another Big Red Machine, and the men in Connections have a distinct loyalty to sound, the creation and bending of sound to transport the listener to the front seat of the car, with a 40 oz between your legs singing along to your favorite song as the "Summer Creeps" does to total FM radio perfection. The sounds of massive record collections are squeezed into and spit out into two and three minutes bursts from the gleeful spree of "Late Shift" which recalls hints of the Homosexuals "Astral Glamour" and the best Brit-pop of the 1990's, to the Wire-esque "Girl's Night Out" while the fatter sound of "Aimless" and "Hang On" have nods to the sound of Gaunt and Guided by Voices, they know that some of the best finds are in your own back yard. Recorded quickly with Adam Smith (Times New Viking, Dan Melchior and Columbus Discount Records), the album is the sound of band hitting on all cylinders and not slowing down in the process . Includes download card.


  1. #1 Aimless
  2. #2 Blurry Eyes
  3. #3 She's Cheering Up
  4. #4 Late Shift
  5. #5 Jeni and Johnny
  6. #6 Green Skull
  7. #7 Girl's Night Out
  8. #8 Summer Creeps
  9. #9 Collect U.S.A.
  10. #10 2 Makes 2
  11. #11 Hang On
  12. #12 Rough Patch
  13. #13 Florida, Vegas, Tahoe
  14. Single MP3s for this release are $0.99.