Jawbreaker Unfun


Formats Available

Label # BB 007UPC 759718089714
Street DateMarch 30th, 2010
Label # BB 007 CDUPC 759718089721
Street DateMarch 30th, 2010
Label # UPC
Street DateJanuary 1st, 2005
Label # UPC 759718089721
Street DateMarch 30th, 2010

Blackball Records presents the 20th anniversary edition of Jawbreaker's beloved 1990 debut album Unfun--twelve groundbreaking tracks (sixteen on the CD) that captured the very inception of emo's big band and launched a galaxy of young, earnest bands and the scenes that love them.
Unfun has been remastered by John Golden from the original analog tapes; the increased sampling rate boosts some of the bottom end and mid-range. It sounds fucking awesome. The vinyl version is available for the first time since 1992, and the CD and download versions of the record include the three-song Whack & Blite EP, as well as the 7-inch mix of "Busy" as an unlisted bonus track. This reissue features restored original artwork, and all formats include additional band photos from the time of recording. The CD comes with a 24-page booklet with the Whack & Blite insert reproduced in its entirety.
"Want" and "Fine Day" were in heavy rotation on college radio back in the day, and remained set list staples throughout Jawbreaker's run. Unfun wound up on a lot of fanzine top ten lists, and even the mainstream press took notice. Rolling Stone called it "a feast of heavy melody and righteous braying that roars along with all the spit and spirit of Husker Du's New Day Rising."


  1. #1 Want
  2. #2 Seethruskin
  3. #3 Fine Day
  4. #4 Incomplete
  5. #5 Imaginary War
  6. #6 Busy
  7. #7 Softcore
  8. #8 Driven
  9. #9 Wound
  10. #10 Down
  11. #11 Gutless
  12. #12 Drone
  13. #13 Lawn
  14. #14 Crane
  15. #15 Eye-5
  16. #16 Busy (7" Mix)
  17. Single MP3s for this release are $0.99.